How many members are nominated to the Rajya Sabha ?

Answer :


The Constitution of India provisions that the Rajya Sabha of Indian parliament shall consist of 250 members. Out of this 250 members 12 members shall be nominated by the President from amongst persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of such matters as literature, science, art and social service.

Other 238 members represent the States and Union Territories, elected by state assemblies.

The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.


Notify of
0 All Discussions
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Must Read Questions

Popular Questions